Skip to content

Saw Heresy

Home Forums General Woodworking Saw Heresy

Tagged: 

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Emily Keene
    Participant

I’ve been sawing and hammer at things on and off for sixty-some years (my dad thought even girls should know how to do this). Mostly because I’m a musician, I’ve always been terrified of power saws and won’t use them, but over the years I’ve gotten pretty good with the old-fashioned general-purpose carpenter’s saw. I stumbled upon Paul’s videos and became very excited about expanding my woodworking abilities and knowledge and have gotten planes and chisels and such and am doing pretty well. But here’s my question/problem/issue/conundrum: For general sawing purposes I’ve found that the Stanley “Fat Max” works best for me, both because of its shorter length and its stiffer blade. I REALLY like Paul’s idea of not buying “throwaway” saws, and bought several old Disston panel saws on Ebay and I’ve gotten the stuff to sharpen them with and am building a saw vise of my own design, but in trying out these (still unsharpened) old saws, they just don’t seem to cut as aggressively as a dull Fat Max, and even though I’m really good at pulling a straight line (I played the fiddle for years), the Disstons seem to buckle. Do I need to wait until I actually get one of these used saws properly set and sharpened?, is my sawing technique flawed? or is this just the way things are? -Rusting in Seattle

Alec Garner
    Participant