Lidl Powerfix Chisels Back in Stock

Home Forums General Woodworking Lidl Powerfix Chisels Back in Stock

Tagged: 

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Nikolaj33
    Participant

Lidl’s chisels are back in stock if anyone is looking for them.

I am new to woodworking and this is the first time that I have been looking at them. I am not too sure if maybe they have dropped their standards a bit. I was looking at a couple dozen packs trying to find a decent looking one. SOme chisels looked burnt at the bevel, or chipped. It was really hard to decide which ones to pick. FInally, when I got home I realized that I haven’t picked the best pack. SOme looked chipped at the top of the bevel, which I guess will be fixed after an hour or so of sharpening.

One of the chisels looked like its not really sitting right in the bolster.

Yet another, which I will show a picture of, has ridiculously different sizes of side bevels. I am aware that side bevels dont matter that much, but when the difference is so huge, I can’t help but wonder if in this case it might matter in fact.

Please don’t get me wrong. I know I am sounding whiny, but that is not my intention. Like I said, having never seen this chisels before, I am wondering if this is what they are supposed to look, or should I go back to Lidl and try to get a slightly better pack. I am not sure if this is as good as they get, or the standards got dropped in which case we might expect Paul to soon start nostalgically reminiscing about the ‘Lidl chisels of old’:)

Keith Walton
    Participant